top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegenerrasierra

I Still Got It!


Recently I approached my 2-year anniversary at my current job. This is something different for me because I generally do not stay with a company for more than one year. I started thinking what if my current employer, for whatever reason decided to lay me off tomorrow; what would I do, where could I go, and are my skills competent enough to compete in today's job market? This feeling of potential helplessness made me go home and spruce up my resume and apply to companies. To my surprise literally three days later I started receiving callbacks from employers inviting me to interview with their company. Even though I am currently gainfully employed, it felt good to know that "I Still Got It!" This experiment made me realize that sometimes we can get complacent and forfeit our competitiveness in the job market. So what about you? If your employer fired you today, would your skills be relevant in today's job market? If you are not sure, try my experiment. If you do not get many callbacks, contact a professional resume writer (such as myself) to create a backup resume, after all, we are in a " right to hire right to fire" state. Do not wait for your employer to lay you off before you decide to see if you are hireable; be proactive. For more information, check out my website at urresumeurfuture.com.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page